What is Cuba?

Annatations

I’m already bracing myself for the inevitable questions of “How was Cuba?” or “Did you have a good time?”  when I return.  While the questions are understandable and perfectly natural to ask, I am always frustrated by my inability to adequately answer them.  How can you possibly convey the sights, the smells, the sounds, the people, and the feelings that come with living in a different culture for nearly two weeks?  It is like reading the SparkNote version of a classic novel.  By summarizing time spent in a place, the experience loses much of its flavor.

                Perhaps it is the stage of life I am as I stand poised on the brink of adulthood, a complete lack of knowledge about Cuba before coming here, or a combination of factors, but this trip has caused me to think more than deeply than any other previous study abroad experience.  In some…

View original post 759 more words

Leave a Reply

