Watching His Garden Grow

“The kingdom of God is like this,” He said.  “A man scatters seed on the ground; he sleeps and rises–night and day, and the seed sprouts and grows–he doesn’t know how.”  ~Mark 4:26-27

Year two in China.  How different from the first.  This time around I packed my bags and boarded the plane not bursting with excitement but filled with the peace that passes understanding.

No doubt ever entered my mind that China is where I am supposed to be but the reason remained obscured.

Why, Lord, oh why?  

I am a child of running water, green grass, quietness.

My city is a place of horns honking, dodging cars, cement, and dirt.

Yet as I talked with a student, the reason became clear.  Watering HIS garden and having the privilege of watching a seed grow is infinitely worth a lack of exercise and strange foods.

One person is worth coming back for.

Why?

 But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” ~Romans 5:8

My life was of such value that Christ shed His perfect, innocent blood for me while I was still a sinner, undeserving of God’s grace!  

Rejoicing in year two and the joy of watching God’s garden grow!

Leave a Reply

